Brightspot Mobile Review

As much as I love technology, I also like saving money. Target’s Brightspot Mobile, powered by T Mobile, seemed to be a good middle-ground for those two passions of mine.

The price for service is undoubtedly the best deal around. For $35 a month, you get unlimited data, unlimited text, and 300 voice minutes. Be warned, however, that your data is only 4G for the first 3 GB, after which it goes down to 2G.

I decided to try it out. Since I never use more than one or two gigs a month, I figured the 2G bump-down wouldn’t be too bad, and I’m certainly not on the phone for more than an hour a month.

So, without further adieu, here is my Brightspot Mobile review.

Initial Setup

While Brightspot offers a selection of phones that come equipped for the service, you can bring your own phone. I brought mine, a Samsung Galaxy Light.

Getting the phone to work took a few steps. First, I needed their special SIM card ($10). Then I had to fix all my phone’s settings so that it would work the right way. (The calling and messaging worked instantly, but the data took a little extra work.)

Quality

The call quality is great. Everything is pretty much the way you’d expect it to be for a mobile phone.

I happen to live in a fairly isolated part of America where it’s mostly trees and mountains. Unless I travel out of my town, I don’t have 4G, but I’m usually connected to WiFi anyway.

Satisfaction

Overall, I’m pretty satisfied with Brightspot. Their customer service was also very helpful when I was first setting up the phone, which is a huge plus.

If you’re looking to save money on a smartphone plan, Brightspot Mobile is a solid choice. Just make sure you have a T Mobile phone before switching.

Bonus Money

In addition to having good service and an incredibly cheap plan, Brightspot Mobile gives you a $25 Target giftcard for every six months of service. In other words, you save $50 on a plan that only costs you $420 a year.

Leave a comment