Galaxy Empire: A Game that’s Too Big for a Smartphone

Galaxy Empire is a strategy game available on Android.

But the developers apparently thought it would be on a PC.

It clearly borrows from Starcraft: in this isometric outer-space RTS, your job is to collect minerals (crystals) and gas, which gets you the units and buildings higher up on the tech tree, and to battle with other alien races.

All of this borrowing is fine, of course. But what the creators of this game failed to remember is that a smartphone would be a terrible device for playing Starcraft or anything remotely as complicated.

tablet

The game has been advertised on a tablet, which makes more sense than a smartphone, but even a tablet lacks the command capabilities of a keyboard. There simple isn’t enough control with a touch screen to play a game with this level of depth.

Especially in real-time.

Freeciv can work on a smartphone, and in my experience, it works great, in part because it’s turn-based, and in part because the developers recognized the limitations of a touch screen.

I was excited for the idea of Galaxy Empire, and the game is certainly more beautiful than anything else on my phone, but it won’t be staying there for long.

The absolute lack of accessibility with this game ruins any chance of a good experience for me.  If there was a more playable version of Galaxy Empire, I would love to play it. Until then, I’ll just stick to my PC for Starcraft (and any of its ripoffs).

phone

2 thoughts on “Galaxy Empire: A Game that’s Too Big for a Smartphone

  1. I gave Galaxy Empire a good run about a year ago and did enjoy it. I colonised a fair few planets and amassed a fleet. The problem with this game and the majority of other free to play games is again, to be anyone of any note in the game you have to pay to win.

    Galaxy Empire felt at home on my iPad and did amuse me for about a week though, so that’s something to be said and although it was feature rich, it never felt “too much” for the device in my opinion.

    Like

    • Hey thanks for commenting!

      I definitely think the game is on to something, but it’s almost too ambitious for me. Certainly worth a few hours of fun, but if it were better built for the speed and accessibility of my phone, I’d enjoy it more (and again, I’m on a phone, not an iPad).

      Perhaps marketed as a tablet game, I could get behind it a little more.

      Like

Leave a comment