8-Bit Camera: Missing Out on Potential

There’s a cool app called 8-Bit Camera, and as excited as I was to use it, I was a bit disappointed.

The premise is that you can take pictures on your phone which will be pixelated on the spot. While the app does handle that function, it doesn’t work very well for anything else.

There’s no simple menu system, you have to hunt down the pictures on your phone, and the option to send or save pictures doesn’t seem to exist.

Not only that, but I had to exit the program every time I wanted to take a new picture.

This may be a problem that is more device-specific, but because I have a fairly recent Android, I’m inclined to think that the app wasn’t programmed well.

8-Bit Camera has gotten over 100,000 downloads, and with it, a ton of reviews. But many users have had a similarly negative experience that I did.

And with free, online editing programs that can pixelate any picture (not just those on my phone) and do much more with images, why do I need a buggy app to help me do it?

If the functionality was better, I would love to use this app, but for now, it’s more trouble than it’s worth.

Leave a comment