Ferro: A Robotic Panic Attack

There’s a lot of muck to wade through in the indie game world. Ferro: Robot on the Run is the prize for doing so.

As promised, my droid news ships are slow: the game has already been rated by much larger publications. Ind13.com gave it an 88%, with points off for the sounds. I actually like the sounds, and would give the game an A.

I’ve been in a groove talking about what to learn from different games, so I’ll just go ahead and do that with this one, too.

The Gameplay is Straightforward

This game operates with one function: letting go of the little spinning cars.

And unlike most of the continuous scrolling games that have come out lately, this is not a Flappy Bird clone (or some variation of it). The constant urgency is slightly panic-inducing, but it’s the good kind of panic that I love in a game.

Ferro_2

 

The Graphics Are Fun and Fitting

I love the way the game looks. It’s not trying too hard to look realistic or 3D, and it’s easy on the eyes. It also makes it very easy to see what’s going on while you’re playing.

I’ve also been told a secret that they’re going to add new backgrounds soon. (I hope I’m allowed to say that.)

There isn’t much else to say about the game, but that’s not a bad thing. I like simplicity, and Ferro hits the mark. I’ve been playing it a lot since I got it, and I’ll be interested to see the new backgrounds, but the game is solid as-is.

Leave a comment